Q. What is the “Freeze Holds” option in My Account?

Answer

The "Freeze Hold" option essentially allows you to “pause” the progress of a hold request and let others “cut” in front of you in line for an item.  It’s useful if you won’t be able to pick up a hold that might be fulfilled during an inconvenient time; you can avoid both potential fines for not picking the item up and losing your place in the hold queue.

 

To Freeze a Hold:

1.       Log in to My Account and view your existing holds. 

2.       You’ll see a “Freeze” column with check boxes for each request.  Check the box(es) and select “Update List."  Then confirm your decisions.

 

Holds remain frozen until you choose to remove the freeze.  A hold cannot be frozen if the item is already on the hold shelf, in transit, is a Link+ item or otherwise paged to fulfill your request.   

  • Last Updated Aug 15, 2016
  • Views 658
  • Answered By Margaret Yamasaki

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 2   0
Your Question
Your Info
Fields marked with * are required.